Two new Covid-19 longhouse clusters detected in Sarawak

Covid-19 – Image from

By John Isaac

TWO new Covid-19 clusters were declared today involving longhouses placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO).

According to the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), the new clusters are Sungai Entajum Cluster in Tatau and Sungai Pelepak Clsuter in Meradong.

As for the Sungai Enjatum Cluster, 112 longhouse fols were screened with 41 testing positive and 71 others waiting for results.

A total 163 residents were screened under the Sungai Pelepak Cluster, from which 61 tested negative and 76 results still pending.

As for Covid-19 cases, Sarawak recorded 365 new cases while one 59-year-old woman from Kanowit died.

Kuching recorded the highest number of cases at 64 followed by Sibu (54), Tatau (42), Saratok (31), Meradong (28), Telang Usan (24), Kanowit (19), Miri (18), Bintulu (14), Serian (10), Kapit (8), Sri Aman (7), Bau (7), Samarahan (7), Mukah (6), Subis (5), Betong (4), Pakan (3), Julau (2), Sarikei (2), and Simunjan (2).

The state’s death toll from Covid-19 now stands at 419.