Sarawak’s only remaining PKR MP vows to stay despite offers to cross over

Dr Michael Teo – Pix from Borneo Post

MIRI MP Dr Michael Teo has reiterated his loyalty to Parti Keadilan Rakyat and its president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim despite efforts to entice him to switch camp.

In a statement yesterday, the PKR vice-president for Sabah and Sarawak said he had received various offers to abandon ship over the past few months.

“Too many have betrayed Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Keadilan and the rakyat over the past 21 years. However, I will never be part of this group of traitors and will stand firm with Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Keadilan, no matter what challenges lie ahead, “ he said.

He also reiterated his support for Anwar’s commitment to fight for truth, democratic reform and social justice.

“My personal standard conviction remains strong and I reaffirm here that under no circumstances will I be coerced or bought by any party,” he said.

Recently, Anwar had revealed that Dr Teo was one of the five PKR MPs being wooed to switch sides by Perikatan Nasional.

The others are Sekijang MP Natrah Ismail, S. Kesavan (Sg Siput), Awang Husaini Sahari (Putatan) and M. Karuppaiya (Padang Serai).

Teo is Sarawak’s sole PKR MP following the defection of five other lawmakers from the party, including Julau rep Larry Sng, who most recently crossed over. Others were Baru Bian (Selangau), Jugah Muyang (Lubok Antu), Ali Biju (Saratok) and Willie Mongin (Puncak Borneo).

Related Posts