Sarawak bans inter-district travel

The Star Pic

By Emma Victoria

SARAWAK has banned inter-district travel with immediate effect, after seven districts were declared as red zones.

State Disaster Management Committee Chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah said this was to further strengthen measures to curb the spread of Covid-19 in the state.

The districts which have been declared as red zones are Kuching with 69 positive cases, Samarahan (16), Betong (8), Sarikei (6), Bintulu (5), Miri (9) and Limbang (6).

Anyone with valid reasons who want to travel from one district to another must obtain permits from the district offices, he told reporters after chairing a committee meeting yesterday.

He said only those with emergency cases will be allowed to travel from one district to another.

Sarawak has a total of 12 divisions and 40 districts.

Related Posts