Parliamentary coordinators to bridge State and Fed governments

Baru (third from left) handing over the appointment letters to newly-appointed co-ordinators. Pic from The Star

WHEN the federal and state governments come from different parties, there could be a disconnect when it comes to rolling out policies.

This is why Pakatan Harapan has appointed 19 parliamentary coordinators in seats, currently held by the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

According to The Star, Works Minister Baru Bian said the coordinators represented the PH administration to promote and implement its policies and to strengthen the relationship between the federal government and the people.

They must make sure that programmes and projects under the federal government’s five-year development plan were carried out accordingly.

The government’s concern on issues faced by the rakyat will be raised and expressed directly through these parliamentary coordinators, who will be responsible for the delivery and implementation of the projects set out to meet the needs of the people who are displaced from current development.

“This includes encouraging the rakyat to be involved in the planning and implementation of projects in the constituency,” he said when handing over appointment letters to the coordinators in Kuching today.

The coordinators were appointed in parliamentary constituencies not held by PH in Sarawak in order to serve as another channel of communication in addition to federal village community management councils (MPKKP) and Komuniti Harapan Malaysia.

This reflected the federal government’s seriousness in building bridges with the people on the ground.

“Through these channels, general information and projects from the Federal Government would be channelled to the people.

“At the same time, these representatives are channels that can be used by the people to communicate with the federal government,” Baru said.

Each parliamentary coordinator would receive the Prime Minister’s special allocation of RM500,000 annually, subject to approval by the director-general of the Implementation Coordination Unit in the Prime Minister’s Department and the state development director.

“This special allocation has to be utilised during the current year in accordance with the Prime Minister’s directive. It is public funds and must strictly follow the stipulated guidelines,” he added.

Among the 19 appointees are Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia’s (Bersatu) Sarawak chairman, Jaziri Alkaf Abdillah Suffian, who will serve as the coordinator for the Santubong parliamentary constituency and PKR’s Sarawak women’s chief, Nurhanim Hanna Mokhsen, who will act as the coordinator for Petra Jaya, Bernama reported.

The other coordinators are Jemree Sabli (Kota Samarahan), Reginald Abell Gaok (Serian), Jamilah Baharuddin (Batang Sadong), Abang Zulkipli Abang Engkeh (Batang Lupar), Norina Umoi Utot (Sri Aman), Noel Changgai Bucking (Betong), Datuk Seri Abang Aditajaya Abang Alwi (Tanjong Manis), Andri Zulkarnaen Hamden (Igan), Chen Nguk Fa (Kanowit), Abdul Jalil Bujang (Mukah), Tengku Gruna (Kapit), Abun Sui Anyit (Hulu Rajang), Kilo Lutan (Bintulu), Ibrahim Mohamad (Sibuti), Roland Engan (Baram), Edward Bulot Yakut (Limbang) and Zehegkiel Piree (Lawas).