Only 80 MPs in the house when Parliament meets

By John Isaac

ONLY 80 Members of Parliament will be allowed to attend each session of the Dewan Rakyat sitting during the third session of the 14th Parliament later this month.

The five-day Parliament sitting will be from July 26 until 29 and on Aug 2.

According to reports, Dewan Rakyat deputy speaker Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon said the matter will be discussed in detail by the Dewan Rakyat committee and respective chief whips, and finalised next week before Parliament starts.

“Like last year, of the 222 MPs only 80 will be allowed to enter. The matters that will be tabled during the sessions will revolve around the Covid-19.

“The sitting will be from 10am to 1pm and 2.30pm to 5.30pm. The proposal for only 80 MPs to attend each session is similar to the resolution taken during last year’s sitting.

“The MPs will be allowed to ask questions but the motion for the sitting to be held using a hybrid approach will not be tabled since we can sit as usual,” said Rashid.

Rashid, the Batu Pahat MP, said the committee will also propose each session be attended by 44 MPs from the government and 36 opposition MPs.

There will be a morning and afternoon session so the MPs can change and take turns, but they have to comply will the standard operating procedures (SOPs).

He said ministers and deputy ministers will also have to limit the number of officers accompanying them to two or three only.