NRP: States which have moved to Phase 2 will not revert to Phase 1

Tengku Zafrul

STATES that have transitioned to Phase 2 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) will not revert to Phase 1, NRP Coordinating Minister Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz said.

Tengku Zafrul, who is also the finance minister, said it is not sustainable for the country to “open and close” a state and NRP is a roadmap with specific planning to enable people to return to normal life.

“Once we go Phase 2, if there are cases in a certain area or location, it will be closed or (imposed with) an enhanced movement control order, not the whole state,” he said.

He was speaking to reporters after a visit to Kiosk D’[email protected] and Precinct 9 Food Court in Putrajaya yesterday.

To date, eight states have transitioned to Phase 2 of the NRP – Perlis, Perak, Pahang, Kelantan, Terengganu, Pulau Pinang, Sabah and Sarawak.

He said other states would follow suit in transitioning to Phase 2 and subsequently Phase 3.

Tengku Zafrul said the standard operation procedures in enhanced MCO areas needed to be tightened as there are also “essential” factories opened.

“For example, Covid-19 tests must be done twice a week,” he said.

Tengku Zafrul said he has conducted NRP engagement sessions with several political parties and stakeholders this week and would continue the sessions in the near future.

He said the sessions were productive and various input was received, especially regarding aid to those affected in enhanced MCO areas.

Discussions regarding the NRP, Tengku Zafrul added, have been conducted with Parti Pejuang Tanahair, Umno, PAS, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), Amanah, PKR, DAP, Bersatu, MCA and MIC.

– Bernama