No new Covid-19 clusters in Sarawak today, one death recorded

By John Isaac

NO new Covid-19 clusters were declared in Sarawak today, while the existing 12 active clusters recorded a total of 51 new cases.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) the Sungai Pelepak Cluster in Meradong recorded 14 cases, followed by Kilometre 85 Cluster in Mukah (9) and Lunyim Cluster in Telang Usan (7).

As for the other clusters which recorded new cases, Pasar Basah Mukah Cluster in Mukah had six cases, Nanga Tada Cluster in Kanowit (5), Kilometer 23 Jalan Puncak Borneo Cluster in Kuching (2), Jalan Kidurong Lima Cluster in Bintulu (2) and Sungai Sengkabang Cluster in Subis (2).

“The Nangan Senjugam Cluster in Julau, Mongkos 2 in Tebedu, Tema Saan Cluster in Tebedu and the Benteng Sri Aman in Sri Aman clusters also recorded one new positive case each today,” said SDMC.

A total 88 clusters did not record any new cases today.

There are 20 Covid-19 red zones in the state, six orange zones, 13 yellow zones and one green zone.

As for new Covid-19 cases, Sarawak recorded 270 cases today along with one fatality, bringing the the state’s cumulative number of cases to 68,869 while the death toll has risen to 432.

Kuching recorded the highest number of cases with 74, which includes two cases at the Narcotics Addiction Rehabilitation Centre (Puspen) Kuching.

Also recording two-digit cases were Meradong (36), Mukah (22), Sarikei (21), Samarahan (16), Miri (14), Sibu (14), Bintulu (10), and Saratok (10).

A total of 15 districts reported single-digit cases namely Telang Usan (8), Subis (7), Sri Aman (6), Bukit Mabong (5), Kanowit (5), Bau (4), Julau (4), Kapit (4), Selangau (3), Marudi (2) and one case each in Betong, Lundu, Pakan, Tatau and Tebedu.

Meanwhile, the SDMC said Sarawak was still in Phase 1 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) with almost all regulations and standard operating procedures (SOP) unchanged to flatten the Covid-19 infection curve.