New Covid-19 cluster in Kuching linked to the Valentine’s Day fight

By S. Harrish

THE Valentine’s Day fight in Kuching has led to a new Covid-19 cluster with six cases so far and 130 policemen in quarantine.

State Disaster Management Committee chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said it is called the Jalan Green cluster while another new cluster, the Kejatau cluster with seven cases, has also been detected in Sarawak.

The Valentine’s Day fight in Jalan Green was over a woman and six men have been arrested so far.

Uggah said Sarawak recorded 199 new cases and two deaths today.

The deaths were in Sibu and raised the state’s total to 69 while the total number of cases is now 7,624.

The first death involved a 59-year-old Sarawakian man, who was admitted to the Sibu Hospital with fever, cough and difficulty in breathing.

He was found positive on Feb 16 and died yesterday. He also suffered from high blood pressure and diabetes.

The other death was an 83-year-old Sarawakian woman, who was being treated at the Sibu Hospital for shortness of breath.

She was found positive on Feb 8 and died today. She had a history of high blood pressure, diabetes and dyslipidemia.

Of the new cases, Uggah said Sibu had 126 infections, followed by Kapit (15), Sri Aman (13), Bintulu (13), Kuching (7), Miri (6), Dalat (5), Kanowit (5), Meradong (4), Subis (2), Samarahan (1), Serian (1) and Beluru (1).

Meanwhile, the Health Ministry said there were 2,936 new Covid-19 cases and 13 deaths reported in the past 24 hours.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said there were 4,889 recoveries, bringing the total number of discharges to 239,971.

He said the total number of infections now stands at 277,811, with 36,797 active cases.

There are 220 patients in the ICU, with 104 on respirators.

Dr Noor Hisham said the 13 deaths bring the number of fatalities to 1,043.

Selangor again had the most number of new infections with 978 cases, followed by Johor (730), Kuala Lumpur (227), Sarawak (199), Negeri Sembilan (191), Penang (188), Perak (155), Sabah (101), Kelantan (38), Terengganu (37), Kedah (36), Malacca (26), Pahang (26), Putrajaya (3) and Labuan (1).