Muhyiddin is new PM

Muhyiddin is the country’s eighth Prime Minister – Astro Awani picture

By Chew Lip Song

PAGOH MP Muhyiddin Yassin is the country’s eighth prime minister, the palace announced today.

Comptroller of the Royal Household Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin in a statement this evening this was after the Agong interviewed MPs on Tuesday and Wednesday and further consulted with party leaders earlier today.

“After getting representation from all leaders representing their respective parties and independent Dewan Rakyat members, in the opinion of his royal highness, the Dewan Rakyat member that is likely to enjoy majority confidence among the Dewan Rakyat members is Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, the Pagoh MP,” he said.

As such, he said the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong has appointed Muhyiddin as prime minister in accordance to Article 40(2)(a) and Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

The swearing-in will take place tomorrow at Istana Negara at 10.30am.

“His Majesty decrees that the appointment process of the prime minister cannot be delayed as the country needs a government for the wellbeing of its people and the country we love.

“His Majesty decrees that this is the best decision for all, and His Majesty hopes that the political crisis will come to an end,” he said.