More states join Sarawak in snubbing CMCO

An empty Plaza Merdeka in Kuching – FMT photo

By Chew Lip Song

FIVE other states have joined Sarawak in deferring the decision to ease the movement control curbs, which is supposed to start nationwide tomorrow.

Pahang, Negri Sembilan and Sabah are the latest to join the bandwagon, after Selangor and Kedah which had announced similar moves earlier. Sarawak was the first state to announce that it’d not allow more economic sectors to resume businesses despite Friday’s greenlight from Putrajaya on this.

Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail said the state government has to study and fine-tune it to match the current state of the Covid-19 outbreak in Pahang.

“This will be discussed further in the state security working committee’s weekly meeting on Friday, May 8,” he said in a statement and added that until a decision was made at the meeting, all regulations made on the MCO would remain.

Negri Sembilan state secretary Datuk Razali Malik said the state would only allow “approved” economic sectors to resume operations but did not specify them, Malaysiakini reported. Restaurants are still barred from providing dine-in services.

Razali said that the “social sector” and sporting activities were also banned.

Meanwhile, Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal said the state could continue to observe phase 4 of the MCO that will end on May 12.

‚ÄúThis stand is taken to ensure efforts to curb the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic continue and to ensure Sabahans are not exposed to the virus,” he said in a statement.

Related Posts