MCO in Sibu extended to Feb 14, CMCO in other Sarawak districts continue

SARAWAK has decided to extend the Movement Control  Order (MCO)in Sibu until Feb 14.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee committee chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said other districts in Sarawak will continue to be placed under Conditional MCO until Feb 14.

He said the decision was in view with the high number of positive Covid-19 cases and red zones in Sarawak.

“To date, there are only 11 green zones out of 40 districts,” he said at a press conference today.

Meanwhile, Sarawak reported only 70 Covid-19 cases today and one death in Sibu while the national tally was 3,680 with a total of seven deaths.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the total number of infections now stands at 194,114 with 42,389 active cases.

He said 314 patients are in the ICU with 122 on respirators.

There were 1,858 recoveries, bringing the total number of discharges to 151,018.



The death toll stands at 707.

Johor had the highest number of cases with 1,069, followed by Selangor (822), Kuala Lumpur (698), Sabah (295), Perak (181), Negeri Sembilan (112) and Penang (101).

They were followed by Kedah (76), Sarawak (70), Terengganu (68), Malacca (63), Kelantan (60), Pahang (42), Putrajaya (19), Perlis (3) and Labuan (1).

On the Sarawak cases, Uggah said 34 cases were reported in Sibu, followed by Dalat (10), Bintulu (9), Kanowit (7), Betong (4), Miri (2), Serian (2) and one each in Kuching and Bau.

Meanwhile, Sarawak also detected two new clusters; Indah Riang Cluster in Kuching and Bedayan Cluster in Serian. Nationwide, there are 15 more new clusters today.

To date, Sarawak has reported a total 3,774 cases, including 34 deaths.