Larry Sng appointed as Sarawak PKR chairman

Star picture

By Emma Victoria

JULAU MP Larry Sng has been made the new Sarawak PKR chairman, replacing Baru Bian who had quit the party last month.

PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail in a statement today said the decision was made after rounds of meeting and discussions between the party president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and branch chiefs from Sarawak.

They have agreed to appoint Sng to lead the Sarawak leadership Council while Batang Lupar chief Abang Zulkifli Abang Engkeh is the deputy chairman.

Miri MP Michael Teo Yu Keng, Baram branch chief Roland Engan and Lawas branch deputy chief Japar Suyut are the vice presidents.

Datuk Seri Hafsah Harun, known as the ‘mother of reformasi’ ever since the party spread its wings in Sarawak remains as PKR Sarawak advisor.

Saifuddin said the complete line-up for Sarawak leadership council will be announced by the new chairman soon.