Dewan Rakyat swears in new Speaker – who then kicks out PH MP

Azhar presiding over today’s sitting in the Dewan Rakyat.

By Chew Lip Song

DATUK Azhar Azizan Harun has been appointed as the new Dewan Rakyat Speaker amid strong protests from opposition lawmakers who had among others, questioned why the House did not vote on the appointment.

Barely had he warmed the seat after swearing in, Azhar, the ex-Election Commission chairman, wasted no time ejecting Shah Alam MP Khalid Samad from the chambers over the latter’s un-Parliamentary behaviour.

Azhar was heckled when taking his oath of office and the jeering continued when he presided over the sitting.

Among others, Batu Kawan MP P. Kasthuri stood up and shouted “who selected you?”

The shouting matches was so intense that Azhar decided to eject Khalid from the House for one day.

Opposition MPs were particularly incensed that Azhar’s appointment was not put to a vote.

Earlier today, the Lower House voted 111 to 109 to remove Azhar’s predecessor Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof.

Subsequently, Ariff’s deputy Nga Kor Ming quit in solidarity with the former.

Nga has since been replaced with Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said.

Azhar adjourned the House earlier than usual today at around 3.30pm following the chaos and shouting matches in in the chambers.

Related Posts