Covid-19: Sarawak records 211 new cases as CMCO extended again

By S. Harrish

THE Conditional Movement Control Order in Sarawak has again been extended for another two weeks until Apr 26.

State Disaster Management Committee said the extension was due to the high number of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak.

The current CMCO has been in effect since March 30 and is due to end on Apr 12.

The extension comes in the wake of yet another two new clusters declared in Sarawak, making it 44 active clusters in the state.

The new clusters are the Jalan Kapitan Cluster in Marudi (20 cases) and Disso Cluster in Saratok (21 cases).

Both clusters recorded one new case each today.

Sarawak reported 211 new cases and one fatality today.

SDMC said Bintulu topped the list with 70 cases followed by Sibu (35), Sarikei (21), Miri (19), Kuching (15), Sri Aman (8), Beluru (7), Kapit, Meradong and Limbang (6 each), Samarahan (5), Subis (3), Bau and Marudi (2 each) while Lubok Antu, Julau, Serian, Mukah, Dalat and Tanjung Manis had one case each.

Sarawak’s total number of cases is now 18,707 and death toll is 117.

The fatality involved an 83-year-old woman admitted to the Miri Hospital after experiencing fever and breathing difficulties.

She passed away yesterday.

Of the new cases, only 56 were symptomatic, while 178 cases involved those under quarantine at designated facilities.

Meanwhile, the health ministry reported 1,285 Covid-19 cases and four deaths nationwide in the past 24 hours.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said there were 1,175 recoveries, bringing the total number of discharges to 340,242.

The total number of infections now stands at 355,753, with 14,203 active cases.

There are 186 patients in ICU, with 81 on respirators.

The four deaths raise the number of fatalities to 1,308. All are Malaysians, aged between 60 and 83, and had existing medical conditions.

Selangor recorded the highest number of cases with 374, followed by Sarawak (211), Penang (162), Kuala Lumpur (120), Sabah (106), Johor (101), Kelantan (87), Kedah (31), Perak (24), Putrajaya (19), Negeri Sembilan (12), Pahang (12), Malacca (11), Terengganu (11), Labuan (three) and Perlis (one).

The new cases today involved 1,268 local infections and 17 imported cases.