Abang Jo reiterates call for Sarawak, Sabah to be given one-third of Parl seats

By Chew Lip Song

CHIEF Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Openg said Sarawak will continue to push for East Malaysia to be allocated one-third of the seats in Parliament.

He said Sabah and Sarawak ought to have a third of the current 222 seats in the Dewan Rakyat as this will help elevate the status of both states following the departure of Singapore from the Federation in 1965.

Without a strong representation in Parliament, any amendments to the federal constitution would be based on the interests of the people in West Malaysia, he added in an interview with Astro Awani.

“We (Sarawak) know that the constitution can be amended if they (West Malaysia) have more than two-thirds of the seats in Parliament,” he added.

When Malaysia was formed in 1963, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore jointly has one-third of the seats in Parliament at 24, 16 and 15 respectively.

But when Singapore left, East Malaysia started to have less than one-third of the seats in the federal legislature.

Currently, there are 31 parliamentary seats from Sarawak and 25 from Sabah or about 25 per cent of the total 222 seats.