4 Ministers from Sarawak in Muhyiddin’s Cabinet

Muhyiddin with the Cabinet list. – Star picture

By Chew Lip Song

FOUR Ministers from Gabungan Parti Sarawak were appointed into PM Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s maiden Cabinet, which also saw the setting up of a new Ministry of Sabah and Sarawak Affairs.

For the first time in history, the country is without a Deputy Prime Minister but will have four Senior Ministers in charge of International Trade, Works, Education and Defence. Notable absence in the Cabinet include the Umno and PAS presidents Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang respectively.

The four Ministers from Sarawak are Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof (Senior Works Minister), Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri (Tourism, Arts and Culture), Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Jaafar (Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development) and Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi (Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs).

The Minister of Sabah and Sarawak Affairs is Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili from PBS, and his deputy is Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib, MP from Mukah and daughter of current Sarawak Governor, Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud.

Other Deputy Ministers from Sarawak are Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing (National Unity); Datuk Henry Sum Agong (Rural Development); Anak Biju (Energy and Natural Resources); Willie Mongin (Plantation and Commodities); Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang (Health) and Hasbi Habibollah (Transport).

All four Ministers are from PBB. Ali and Willie were ex-PKR lawmakers who defected to Muhyiddin’s bloc.

“The government is serious about tackling developmental and socio-economic issues of the people in Sabah and Sarawak,” Muhyiddin said when the announcing the new line-up at the PM’s office in Putrajaya today.

“My Cabinet will also wants to ensure that the spirit of the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63) will translate into direct benefits to the people of Sabah and Sarawak.”

The full line-up is as follows:

  • Prime Minister: Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin
  • Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Law): Takiyuddin Hassan
    Eddin Syazlee Shith
  • Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Religion): Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri
    Ahmad Marzuk Shaary
  • Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Special Functions): Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof
    Mastura Yazid
  • Agriculture and Food Industry: Ronald Kiandee
    Deputy: Hj Ahmad Hamzah, Haji Che Abdullah Mat Nawi
  • Agro entreprenuer and commidity: Mohd Khairuddin Aman Razali
    Deputy: Wee Jeck Seng, Willie Mongin
  • Communications and Multimedia: Saifuddin Abdullah
    Deputy: Zahidi Zainul Abidin
  • Defence: Ismail Sabri Yaakob
    Deputy: Ikhmal Hisham Abdul Aziz
  • Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs): Maximus Johnity Ongkili
    Deputy: Hajah Hanifah Hajar Taib
  • Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs: Alexander Nanta Linggi
    Deputy: Rosol Wahid
  • Economic Affairs: Mustapa Mohamed
    Deputy: Arthur Joseph Kurup
  • Education: Mohd Radzi Md Jidin
    Deputy: Dr Mah Hang Soon, Muslimin Yahaya
  • Energy and Natural Resources: Shamsul Anuar Nasarah
    Deputy: Ali Biju
  • Entrepreneur and Co-operative Development: Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar
    Deputy: Wira Mas Ermieyati Hj Samsudin
  • Environment: Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man
    Deputy: Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad
  • Federal Territories: Annuar Musa
    Deputy: Santhara Kumar
  • Finance: Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz
    Deputy: Abd Rahim Bakeri, Mohd Shahar Abdullah
  • Foreign Affairs: Hishammuddin Hussein
    Deputy: Kamaruddin Jaffar
  • Health: Dr Adham Baba
    Deputy: Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali, Aaron Ago Dagang
  • Higher Education: Noraini Ahmad
    Deputy: Mansor Othman
  • Home: Hamzah Zainuddin
    Deputy: Haji Ismail Haji Mohamed Said, Jonathan Yassin
  • Housing and Local Development: Zuraida Kamaruddin
    Deputy: Ismail Abd Mutalib
  • Human Resources: M Saravanan
    Deputy: Awang Hashim
  • International Trade and Industry: Azmin Ali
    Deputy: Lim Ban Hong
  • National Unity: Halimah Mohamed Sadique
    Deputy: Tiong King Sing
  • Rural Development: Hj Abd Latiff Hj Ahmad
    Deputy: Abdul Rahman Mohamad, Henry Sum Agong
  • Science, Technology and Innovation: Khairy Jamaluddin
    Deputy: Ahmad Amzad Hashim
  • Tourism, Arts and Culture: Nancy Shukri
    Deputy: Jeffrey Kitingan
  • Transport: Wee Ka Siong
    Deputy: Haji Hasbi Haji Habibollah
  • Women, Community and Family Development: Rina Mohd Harun
    Deputy: Hajah Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff
  • Works: Fadillah Yusof
    Deputy: Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh
  • Youth and Sports: Reezal Merican Naina Merican
    Deputy: Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal